Alden G. Clayton Competition

The annual Alden G. Clayton dissertation proposal competition recognizes marketing doctoral students who are working on research questions with important marketing, societal, and policy implications. Each year, MSI grants up to five awards and five honorable mentions, encouraging top-notch Ph.D. students to apply rigorous research methods to questions that have real business relevance.

Pre-proposals must be submitted by October 22nd, 2021. If you have questions about submitting, please contact



AGC Winners

  • 2020 Winners

    Johann Melzner (New York University)
    Olivia Natan (University of Chicago)
    Jeremy Yang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

  • 2019 Winners

    Nicolas Padilla (Columbia University)
    Omid Rafieian (University of Washington)


    2018 Winners

    Dafna Goor (Harvard University)
    Tesary Lin (University of Chicago)


    2017 Winners

    Robert E. Sanders (University of Chicago)
    Artem Timoshenko (MIT)


    2016 Winners

    Zhuping Liu (University of Texas at Austin)
    Daniel McCarthy (University of Pennsylvania)
    Navid Mojir, (Yale School of Management)


    2015 Winners

    Mahdi Ebrahimi (University of Houston)
    Beth Fossen (Emory University)
    Max Nohe (Tilburg University)


    2014 Winners

    Xiao Liu (Carnegie Mellon University)
    Adelle X. Yang (University of Chicago)


    2013 Winners

    Jonathan Berman (University of Pennsylvania)
    Clarence Lee (Harvard Business School)
    Hongshuang (Alice) Li (University of Maryland)
    Adithya Pattabhiramaiah (University of Michigan)


    2012 Winners

    Jayson S. Jia (Stanford University)


    2011 Winners

    Cristina Nistor (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)


    2010 Winners

    Kelly B. Herd (University of Colorado, Boulder)


    2009 Winners

    Jeffrey Meyer (Texas A&M University)
    Dante Pirouz (University of California, Irvine)


    2008 Winners

    Sumon Datta (Yale University)
    Andrew T. Stephen (Columbia University)
    Botao Yang (University of Toronto)
    Hema Yoganarasimhan (Yale University)


    2007 Winners

    Zsolt Katona (INSEAD)


    2006 Winners

    Brett R. Gordon (Carnegie Mellon University)
    Michael Trusov (UCLA)


    2005 Winners

    Xiaojing Dong (Northwestern University)
    Benjamin Kartono (Cornell University)


    2004 Winners

    Sarit Moldovan (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
    Sangyoung Song (University of Pennsylvania)
    Debora Viana Thompson (University of Maryland)


    2003 Winners

    Simona Botti (University of Chicago)
    Rex Du (Duke University)


    2002 Winners

    Sangkil Moon (University of Iowa)
    Kristin Rotte (University of Cincinnati)


    2001 Winners

    Rajkumar Venkatesan (University of Houston)


    2000 Winners

    Pankaj Aggarwal (University of Chicago)
    Julien Cayla (University of Colorado)
    Jaihak Chung (Cornell University)
    Detlev Zwick (University of Rhode Island)


    1999 Winners

    Michael Lewis (Northwestern University)
    Wendy Moe (University of Pennsylvania)


    1998 Winners

    Kalyani Menon (McGill University)
    Erica M. Okada (University of Pennsylvania)


    1997 Winners

    Chris White (Texas A&M University)


    1996 Winners

    George S. Babbes (University of California, Berkeley)
    Nancy Buchan (University of Pennsylvania)


    1995 Winners

    Rajesh K. Chandy (University of Southern California)
    Sean A. Meehan (London Business School)
    Miklos Sarvary (INSEAD)
    Jorge M. Silva-Risso (University of California, Los Angeles)
    Ronald T. Wilcox (Washington University)


    1994 Winners

    David R. Bell (Stanford University)
    John T. Gourville (University of Chicago)
    Yong-Soon Kang (University of Colorado at Boulder)
    Satya Menon (University of Pennsylvania)
    Vonda Powell (University of Illinois)


    1993 Winners

    Nadine M. Castellano (University of Iowa)
    Jennifer Gregan-Paxton (University of Minnesota)
    Sandy Jap (University of Florida)
    John Matthews (Harvard University)


    1992 Winners

    Jonathan D. Hibbard (Northwestern University)
    John W. Mullins (University of Minnesota)
    Duncan Simester (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
    Gordon S. Swartz (Harvard University)


    1991 Winners

    Alexandra Campbell (University of Toronto)

    Rosemary Kalapurakal (Ohio State University)

    Vicki Morwitz (University of Pennsylvania) Mehmet Pasa

    (University of Chicago) John Walsh

    (Cornell University)


    1990 Winners

    João Assunção (University of California, Los Angeles)
    Irene Raj Foster (Indiana University)
    J. Jeffrey Inman (University of Texas at Austin)
    John J. Sailors (Northwestern University)


    1989 Winners

    Pradeep K. Chintagunta (Northwestern University)
    Donna Green (University of Western Ontario)
    Nirmalya Kumar Northwestern University)
    Jakki Mohr (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
    Brian Wansink (Stanford University)


    1988 Winners

    Helen H. Anderson (Duke University)
    Marcia K. Armstrong (University of Texas, Dallas)
    Laura Peracchio (Northwestern University)
    Emine Sarigollu (University of Pennsylvania)


    1987 Winners

    Randolph E. Bucklin (Stanford University)
    Cornelia A.R. Pechmann (Vanderbilt University)


    1986 Winners

    Eduardo G. Camargo (Northwestern University)
    Howard Marmorstein (University of Florida)
    Allen Weiss (University of Wisconsin)
    Lauren K. Wright (The Pennsylvania State University)


    1985 Winners

    Sunil Gupta (Columbia University)
    Durairaj Maheswaran (Northwestern University)
    S. Ram (University of Illinois)


    1984 Winners

    Wendy Bryce (University of Washington)
    Kevin Lane Keller (Duke University)


By using you agree to our use of cookies as identifiers and for other features of the site as described in our Privacy Policy.