Research Resources

MSI Young Scholars

MSI Young Scholars 2019

With the 2019 Class of Young Scholars, MSI recognizes remarkable marketing scholars whom it believes will be the leaders of the next generation of marketing academics.

Vibhanshu Abhishek, University of California, Irvine
Jonathan Berman, London Business School
Amit Bhattacharjee, Erasmus University
Abhishek Borah, INSEAD
Eva Buechel, University of Southern California
Anne-Sophie Chaxel, Virginia Tech University
Zoey Chen, University of Miami
Hannes Datta, Tilburg University
Derick Davis, University of Virginia
Daria Dzyabura, New Economic School, Moscow
Dean Eckles, MIT
Zachary Hall, Texas Christian University
Xun (Irene) Huang, Nanyang Technological University
Jayson S. Jia, University of Hong Kong
Irina Kozlenkova, University of Virginia
Frank May, Virginia Tech University
Hristina Nikolova, Boston College
Grant Packard, Wilfrid Laurier University
Anita Rao, The University of Chicago
Taly Reich, Yale University
Alok Saboo, Georgia State University
Anthony Salerno, University of Cincinnati
Amin Sayedi, University of Washington
Eric Schwartz, University of Michigan
Stephan Seiler, Stanford University
Bradley Shapiro, The University of Chicago
Eesha Sharma, Dartmouth College
Luxi Shen, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Rima Toure-Tillery, Northwestern University
Yanwen Wang, University of British Columbia
Linli Xu, University of Minnesota
Dengfeng Yan, New York University, Shanghai
Yang Yang, University of Florida
Bobby Zhou, University of Maryland
Georgios Zervas, Boston University

The 2019 Young Scholars – all of whom are 3-6 years post-Ph.D. – are conducting research on critical marketing topics such as emerging technologies, consumer decision making, and quantitative marketing research. “These are the academics to watch,” said President Cheryl Toto. “We are excited to see what they accomplish in their fields and to enable their engagement with leading marketing practitioners.”

“We are particularly delighted to have this diverse set of highly productive scholars represent the 10th anniversary of MSI Young Scholars,” said Executive Director Carl Mela. “The inaugural Young Scholars conference was conceived and organized nearly two decades ago by a diverse group of marketing scholars whose interests spanned all disciplines within marketing. Recognizing the lack of interactions across these domains, they approached MSI (widely recognized for its interdisciplinary orientation) to convene a conference to bring these perspectives together and develop a cohesive class of elite scholars within marketing. The Program’s endurance and the quality of this year’s class of Young Scholars are a testimony to their vision.”

The 2019 Young Scholars program will convene January 3-6, in Park City, Utah, for four days of research sharing and to explore future collaborations. They will be joined by representatives of member company sponsors, who are interested in sharing their business challenges and establishing ongoing ties with marketing academia’s future leaders.


About MSI's Young Scholars Program

The Young Scholars Program was established in 2001 by MSI Executive Director David Reibstein, and marketing scholars Eric Anderson, Gavan Fitzsimons, Duncan Simester, and Nader Tavassoli.

Today, the biennial program continues to bring together many of the best young marketing academics in the world. MSI hosts a four-day gathering to provide a forum for these scholars to discuss their research, to encourage future collaboration, and to foster their interest in solving real-world marketing problems.

The alumni of Young Scholars now number nearly 300; these academic leaders are teaching and conducting research in the top universities around the world, impacting marketing practice and theory in new and creative ways.

View Past Young Scholars


Thank you to our 2017 sponsors

By sponsoring the 2017 Young Scholars Program, Facebook and Colgate-Palmolive Company helped to cultivate the next generation of academic leaders interested in research with real-world implications for marketing practice.

Representatives from both companies met and interacted with rising stars in academic marketing and learned firsthand about their research. Company representatives were able to share their business challenges and explore opportunities for research and collaborations, and to establish ongoing ties with a group of remarkable young academics.

Become a Young Scholars Sponsor



View Photos from the 2017 Young Scholars Meet Up






View Photo Highlights





For more information on how to be considered as a future young scholar, please contact us at