Clayton Awards Recognize Top Work by Next Generation of Scholars

January 26, 2018

In January, MSI announced awards in the 2017 Alden G. Clayton Dissertation Proposal Competition, recognizing marketing doctoral students who are working on research questions with important marketing, societal, and policy implications. 


Robert E. Sanders, University of Chicago, “Reducing Retailer Food Waste through Revenue Management”
Advisors: Pradeep Chintagunta, Jean-Pierre Dubé, Günter Hitsch, and René Caldentey

Artem Timoshenko, MIT, “Identifying Customer Needs from User-Generated Content”
Advisors: John R. Hauser and Duncan Simester

Honorable Mentions

Ryan Dew, Columbia University, “Machine Learning Methods for Data-Driven Decisions”
Advisor: Asim Ansari

Ana Martinovici, Tilburg University, “Attention, Utility, and Brand Choice”
Advisor: Rik Pieters

Franklin Shaddy, University of Chicago, “Greater Than the Sum of the Parts: How Bundling Creates Value”
Advisor: Ayelet Fishbach

The 2017 competition garnered “an incredibly large number of submissions, representing an increase of nearly 50% year over year, and the pool of proposals was especially competitive,” noted Executive Director Carl Mela. “We are deeply grateful to the many marketing scholars who generously contributed their time to serve as reviewers.”

Each year since 1984, MSI has granted up to five awards and five honorable mentions, encouraging top-notch Ph.D. students to apply rigorous research methods to questions that have real business relevance. Many recipients go on to become leading marketing academics who maintain a career-long association with MSI as researchers, authors, and Academic Trustees.  The inaugural winner of the Clayton Competition, in 1984, was Dartmouth’s Kevin Lane Keller, MSI’s 2013-15 Executive Director.

About the Competition

Past winners

By using you agree to our use of cookies as identifiers and for other features of the site as described in our Privacy Policy.